I Live for Smut TV: My Addiction to All Things ‘Reality’

“Be not afraid of greatness. Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and others have greatness thrust upon them.” ~  William Shakespeare

evelynlozadafights-e1347375820536

*Evelyn looks like shit in this pic*

So I’m an unapologetic fan of Reality TV (what I affectionately refer to as “Smut TV”).  Sure, I’ve had my moments when I said “ENOUGH ALREADY! DAMN!!”, only to fall right back in a near-catatonic trance once the new season premiere of “Housewives of Anywhere” debuts.

I can think of so many other things to do with my evenings (like working out or finishing a book) but I’d much rather finish making dinner, help the kids with homework and snuggle up in my comforter with my remote in hand, soaking up all the smut I can stand.

Here’s my self-analysis: if I am really honest with myself, I’ll admit that I live vicariously through some of the reality celebs, while thanking the universe that my life is nothing like the lives of the other reality celebs. When I see people using this platform to launch their own businesses and careers, I’m not only proud but motivated to to get on my own grind (The Housewives franchise, Love and Hip-Hop and my newly-found fave, Washington Heights). But there are those shows that make me literally cringe, wondering WTF is wrong with our society that we popularize these kinds of tragedies and/or fuckery (Hoarders, Panic 911… The Kardashians).

Bottom Line: Not all reality TV is necessarily bad TV. Just let these folks be great. Allow them to earn their money, even if we feel that its at the expense of their dignity.

We have much bigger fish to fry, like the impending sequestration cuts. The Republicans and the Obama administration are pissing me off, simultaneously.

Let's Talk About It

